How long will Robert Downey Jr play Tony Stark?

Rumor has it Downey is getting too expensive for the studio.

The studio reportedly had to pay upwards of $50 million to the actor for The Avengers movie, which includes box office bonuses and backend compensation. And Downey’s contract would be up after the release of Iron Man 3, so the question if the studio could afford him or not may come up sooner.

In an interview, Downey told Empire magazine that he loves the character.

“Let’s just say that the only thing I ever let go of had claw marks on it.”

“There’s a little bit of soul reclamation going on. I feel that the first time I played Tony, I did it best. Sorry! The affinity with Tony now is: how do you sustain something? I’m not stupid, I like to play ball, I love the company, I love the character, and the business side of things, I’m not picky about that either.”

To add fuel to the fire, Marvel head, Kevin Feige, has talked about the possibility of replacing Downey, Jr. In a James Bond sort of way.

“I hope Downey makes a lot of movies for us as Stark,” Feige said back in April. “If and when he doesn’t, and I’m still here making these movies, we don’t take him to Afghanistan and have him wounded again. I think we James Bond it,” Feige said.

So, do you think replacing Robert Downey, Jr. will be a problem for the Iron Man franchise?

Visit FreshtilDeath.com for more related stories.

See this video....




Leave a Reply.